Music Faculty & Staff

Building Room MUS 127

Phone (323) 343-4060 | Fax (323) 343-4063 |

Office Hours: Monday - Thursday 8:00am to 6:00pm and Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm


  • Dr. Emily Moss
    • Office: MUS 128
    • Phone: (323) 343-4060

Full Time Faculty

Jeffrey Benedict Professor Emeritus of MusicSaxophone, Jazz Studies
Office: MUS 123 Phone: (323) 343-4099

Michael Caldwell,  D.M.A. Professor of Music, Associate Vice President of Faculty Affairs
Office: ADMIN 707 Phone: (323) 343-3810

David Connors, D.M.E. Professor of Music, Interim Associate Dean Office: MUS 231 Phone: (323) 343-4004 

Paul DeCastro Professor of Music in Afro Latin Music, Jazz Studies
Office: MUS 12 Phone: (323) 343-4079

James Ford Professor of Music in Trumpet, Jazz Studies
Office: MUS 70 Phone: (323) 343-4081

Sara Graef Professor of Music in Composition and Theory
Office: MUS 235 Phone: (323) 343-4073

Christopher Gravis Assistant Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities
Office: MUS 122 Phone: (323) 343-4068

Susan Kane Professor of Music in Voice
Office: MUS 121 Phone: (323) 343-4043

John M. Kennedy Professor of Music in Composition and Theory
Office: MUS 236 Phone: (323) 343-4084

Ross Levinson Associate Professor of Music in Commercial Music and Music Technology
Office: MUS 14 Phone: (323) 343-5448

Emily Moss Associate Professor of Music and Director of Bands/Director of Instrumental Music Education
Office: Music 132 Phone: (323)-343-4062

Beverly Stein Professor of Music in Music History
Office: MUS 130 Phone: (323) 343-4077

Steve Wight Associate Professor of Music in Commercial Music and Recording Arts
Office: MUS 14 Phone: (323) 343-5447

Applied Music Faculty

Diane Alancraig, flute

Satik Andriassian, classical guitar

David Askren, jazz guitar

Nathan Campbell, French horn

Iris Cepeda, voice

Joshua Davis, bassoon

Tim Emmons, electric bass

Robert Fernandez, percussion

Pedro Flores, vihuela

Helen Goode-Castro, clarinet

Carla Hassett, voice

Fung Ho, violin

Denis Jiron, trombone

Randy Jones, euphonium and tuba

Robert MacNeil, voice

Kara Masek, voice

Joao Pedro Mourao, electric guitar

Aki Nishiguchi, oboe

Scott Oakley, jazz piano

Geoff Osika, double bass

Calixto Oveido, percussion

Nicholaus Stoup, percussion

Pin Fei Tang, cello

Jacques Voyemant, trombone

Robert Ward, piano

Suli Xue, violin